Spring Showers

There’s still snow on the ground, about half-cover.  But Spring rains are melting it as I write.  It’s a happy dance of downpours up here on the highlands.  Down river it’s making for rising flood waters as the river people sandbag to save their homes from another overflow situation.  It reminds me how much perspective influences our view of life.

As a gardener, I can’t wait for the snow to melt and the ground to dry out enough for Spring tilling.  The farmers are happy too, at least those in the Northland, because in a week, the midwest will be saturated from higher than normal snowfall melt.  And it will pass leaving a wake of damage and delays for the Midland farm belt.  I’m focusing on the positive and praying for those who are less fortunate.

12 Step programs have taught me of the duality of life and how we can choose our focus.  The past three weeks were overwhelming for me, however, I did finish my work on time and should receive good grades.  My blood pressure paid some, and to overcome that blip, I’ll be exercising again on a regular basis to get back in shape after the sedentary shift of school work.  It felt so good to get out for a walk on Saturday, moving around physically instead of just exercising my brain!  The rain will deter the outdoor exercise this week, however, I have an elyptical to work inside to compensate.  Balance is so important, and getting back to my more balanced routine now that the heaviest of the school work is past elevates my spirit and makes me smile.  I choose to smile.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am smiling today. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

