Manageable

Three of my seven classes ended this week to a round of applause and great relief from me!  I set myself up for more stress than necessary.  Although it was in the interest of learning more for future resources, the scheduling was too much for me the last three weeks.

It isn’t the first time I’ve set myself up, however, it is the second time in the last six months or so as I push myself to finish a three year degree in two years in order to start earning a living sooner.  Our financial state requires it.  It’s time to start making a lot more money to pay off debt and stay current on the regular monthly bills.  Alanon has taught me over the years to avoid this over doing it type of scheduling, and other than grad school, I’ve learned to say “no” more and schedule less.  So this has been an anomaly, a blip in my self care regimen and now the worst of it is completed.

And in the midst of it all, these last two weekends have included some FUN! for a change.  A night out listening to a friend’s blues band, a night at the opera with my sister, a lovely organic lunch and catching up with my husband’s brother and his wife and kids, and dinner with a friend also to catch up all made the last week more balanced.  Next semester will include dropping two of the five classes I’m currently registered for to keep my sanity sustained.  It’s my last semester and includes practicum and writing my dissertation.  It will be busy, but more manageable.  And with the coming of Spring in our tundra land, the days are brighter, the end of school is in sight and new possibilities for my career are falling into place.  There’s much to be grateful for and appreciate!

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am almost there. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Lisa Espich said,

    I can relate to what you’re feeling — I also tend to overschedule, but I must admit that just listening to your schedule makes me feel exhausted. It sounds like you have strong clear goals, and you are staying focused and motivated to reach them. As a person who struggled in an addictive relationship for nearly two decades, I know that it was creating goals, and finally going after my dreams, that helped me to recover! Thank you for sharing and keep soaring! Lisa Espich, author of “Soaring Above Co-Addiction: helping your loved one get clean, while creating the life of your dreams”.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

