Back And Forth

In relationships I’ve noticed that there can be a back and forth movement between closeness and distance for some couples.  And it’s okay. 

There was a time when this might have scared me and caused much anxiety if my husband were coming and going regarding closeness in our relationship.  Through the years, my learning has allowed me to become more comfortable with the balance between us, and the individual me.  Sometimes I choose more distance which is a pleasant surprise for both my husband and for me.  Sometimes he chooses it.  However, we can still have closeness easily.

The back and forth has been referred to as a dance between couples.  And it really is a dance of sorts.  It’s even more an adventure in the dance of intimacy and how it manifests in our daily lives.  It’s healthy to have both the closeness and the distance at times.  The degrees of each are what seem to be at issue sometimes.  And as with most things, avoiding the extremes and seeking a midground or a balance is preferable.  I’m still learning.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am learning what feels comfortable. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

