Exploring

In relationships when there is confusion or misunderstanding it can be helpful to keep a curious stance, ask questions and listen carefully.  This can be a challenge, but it really does work.

There are a few relationships in my life where it’s very important for me to be curious right now.  It will help me stay focused on the facts so I can be thoughtful about their replies and respond.  It would be easier to react and be emotional, but that doesn’t help.  Reacting doesn’t connect me to other people.  In fact, it could push them away.

The process also requires patience and perseverance.  And these are helpful qualities to cultivate.  So I’m holding space for these people and my willingness to stay connected is present and unfaltering.  I really am curious about what they are thinking, what they want and how they feel.   It’s not all about me.  I have a part in the condition of our relationships and I’m owning it.  But the focus for me now is on learning more about them.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am learning about others. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

