What Next?

Twice this week while doing projects, I went to get the tools needed from the workbench and they weren’t where they’ve always been kept.  Someone had them in their truck and/or didn’t put them back where they’ve been kept for over a decade.  Yes, my husband is the culprit.  After looking everywhere that made any sense to me and some that didn’t, which delayed my project for a half hour, I called him on the job (which I hate to do).  Although he had these household tools (probably because he couldn’t find his work tools) he was unwilling to admit it or share.

Instead, he wrote a convenient story in his mind about what he decided was the problem and projected it onto me.  Ugh!  I didn’t have to accept it, though it was a nice try on his part.  Nor did I lose my temper out loud which could have led to words I’d regret.  Fortunately my sanity stayed in tact this time and my focus went to the solution.  Off I went to replace the missing tools at the hardware store, and he paid for it.  Now this put me back about an hour and 15 minutes in delay on my construction project at home which is as important as his because they both bring in additional money for the household.  But, now there are new tools for me to work with, the project is in process and it should be finished today.  Perhaps I just need to find a new spot to keep the tools!?!  Easy fix.

And, the blessing is that I don’t have to take on my husband’s stuff or add to it with my own stuff – which was tempting me.  Too much trouble and energy would be wasted.  Instead my focus is on keeping my own side of the street as clean as possible.  Sometimes my ability to do that isn’t as keenly in gear, but luckily for both of us, this time it was pretty easy for me to keep my eyes on myself and the solution.  And deep breathing helped a lot.  Now none of this means he’s entirely off the hook.  We’ll talk about the fact that our household tools need to be accessible and not on the job with him.  My hope is that he’ll start to come up with a tool storage system that works for him – which will then work better for me in the future.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am choosing to focus on solutions. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

