Let ‘Em Whirl

One of my dear friends in Omaha and I were talking some time ago about the drama and chaos taking place in my family at that time.  When asked for her words of wisdom, she told me “Let ’em whirl, just let ’em whirl.” 

Believe me, she knows whereof she speaks.  Coming from a very large family, double digits that is, she’s had plenty of practice stepping aside and letting her family members do their thing.  This was good advice for me then, and it still holds true.  What’s also been reinforced for me is to mind my own business.  My ability to do that has improved greatly over the last few years and it’s getting easier all the time.

When a sponsee called yesterday regarding a situation in her family, these helpful tools came to mind.  She will do fine when she too steps aside, maintains her personal boundaries kindly and just takes care of herself.  Maintaining our serenity is worth it.  We don’t need to offer explanations or excuses for staying out of the drama.  We can just be grateful that we no longer need to concern ourselves with what doesn’t serve us or others, and keep our eyes on the solutions.   It always works.  And it can even be contagious.  Some of my sponsee’s family members are already noticing the difference in her and say they are learning from it.  Well, what do you know!  That is truely something to be grateful for…

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am minding my own business. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

