Solutions And Smiles

Daisies make me happy.  They always make me smile.  They’re one of the solutions that remind me of simple happiness.  A sponsee called today, stuck in a problem that belongs to other people.  She reminded me of how much I used to lament about everything and complain about the rest.  Borrrrring!  Honestly, I had little else to say pre-program.

Well, 12 Step programs changed all that, and the complaining and lamentation didn’t have a chance!  Really.  My sponsor was so good at keeping me on track – which is why she had me start writing a Gratitude List every morning.  That’s right, 25 things I am grateful for are listed which helps to frame my day with what is good and right and working.  And if I forget through the day and start to revert to what’s wrong – I can refer right back to that Gratitude List.

All of my sponsees write a Gratitude List each morning.  It seems to be working for them as well.  Solutions usually means staying in action too.  And in the case of the sponsee that called today, it meant identifying that she was really in fear and it was easier to complain about others rather than admit she was scared.  Once she admitted the fear, she was freed up to focus on the solution for the fear.  Her voice lightened and she started laughing.  She was back in the solution and free again.  Just like the daisies that caught my eye today at a neighbor’s.  I’m still smiling!

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am smiling at people today. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

