Reaching Out For Help

Reaching out for help did not come naturally to me.  As the oldest in my family, it was my job to have all the answers and be there to help everyone else. 

Well, for the most part I’ve given up that role.  The programs have taught me how.  I still like to be of service, but not at my expense which is what used to happen.  And it’s not necessary for me to be the answer person.  My relationships with other people are more reciprocal, meaning that we both help each other out when we’re in need.  There is give and take on both sides.  No one sidedness allowed.  Even with sponsees, I can call them for help if needed, like my sponsor calls me sometimes. 

My pride is no longer at issue most of the time when it comes to seeking help.  Although, regarding these financial straights that we’re going through, it’s been an emotional experience for me to call around to see what type of help and guidance we can receive to help us navigate through this trying time.  And people, professionals outside the programs have been lovely – compassionate, understanding, thoughtful and encouraging about the fact that we’re doing the right thing by asking for help and focusing on the solutions.  Much kindness and concern have been extended to us over the past few days and I am grateful for it and willing to be on the receiving end.  Thank You God.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am willing to receive help. ”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  Subscribe for Free – press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

