New Territory

Every week I encounter some new landscape of life situations to navigate through.  At times, it’s confusing since there’s not much past experience for me to draw upon.  At other times, my previous encounters with similar situations serves me well as a frame of reference.

With the former however, my best bet is to call upon the wisdom of my sponsor, or/and my therapist whom I see when difficult situations arise.  It’s important for me to listen carefully to my sponsor who usually has much to share with me when it comes to most of these new situations.  With both of these resources, I also learn about me as related to the situation.  There is quite a filter through which the information of life passes with each of us.  I am no different. 

Neutralizing the filter as well as possible has been a practice which makes dealing with these new situations easier.  What that means is staying in the moment, looking at the facts of a situation, breathing through any distracting emotion that seems to come from the filter of my past, and discerning the next most reasonable and helpful thing to do.  I can ask my resource people for suggestions, but ultimately, the decision is mine.  So too are the consequences mine to deal with, and that’s okay.  Little by little, my ability to navigate these new life opportunities with greater ease improves.  And, calling upon my Higher Power for patience, direction and guidance in tandem with the help available through the 12 Step programs, my sponsor and a professional hold me up through the more trying, although passable encounters with life’s surprises. Soon this new terrain is just another piece of life experience informing me in competent ways for the next twist in the road.  “This too shall pass,” is a perfect fit.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am finding my way with help.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  For daily updates, press the orange RSS feed in the right column for directions.

Leave a Reply

