Following A Plan

Next week I return to school for my 3rd of 6 semesters in grad school.  The free time this week is a premium luxury for me to use as I wish.  Mainly, it has involved gardening, decluttering and recuperating from a minor injury. 

However, there are also a few important things that must be accomplished this week.  They are pieces of the pie for my future success in a new chosen field.  So, despite the many distractions offered by my favorite – gardening – and also by my husband’s requests for assists with his day, my goal is to get these things done.  Tempting as it is to help him out, my first priority is to myself for the next few days.  So here I am at a coffee shop, writing this post and about to move on to some much needed online research for potential practicum sites for January.  Next, a review of my class times, and shopping for my books for next semester.  Then, it’s back to the house for more decluttering.

I feel like an adult taking care of business.  That isn’t always how I feel – competent, content, serene.  Without a plan for my day I can feel inept, uncomfortable and my self esteem can decline.   But I have a plan.  The programs have taught me that having a plan helps me have success.  At work it served me well too.  And, I’m working on the plan for the day, based on the priorities that make sense.  It’s a simple thing, really.  A basic skill of adult living and progressing.  So while it may seem silly to place any importance or focus on the practice, it is one of the things that works and makes my life sane, serene and productive.  And I feel better, satisfied, content with myself for being good to me.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am following the plan for the day.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  For daily updates, press the orange RSS feed to the right for directions.

Leave a Reply

