Gratitude Daily

gratitude

Growing up I learned how to lament, complain, and focus on how awful everything was in my life.  And the more I complained and moaned about how awful things were, the more awful things I had to lament about.  It’s a self perpetuating cycle.  And it doesn’t have to be that way.

We can keep the cycle, but replace what is running through it with something better.  When my first sponsor asked me to write a Gratitude List every day, that was the start of my change of awareness.  She asked me to write 25 things each day that I was grateful for.  Initially, this was a laborious, almost painful process for me.  My brain truly did not know how to see or notice what was good in my life.  The entire concept was new to me.  When we know better, we do better.

Now, many years later I am still writing that Gratitude List, every day.  And I’m very good at it.  Then, throughout my day I talk about what I notice that I’m grateful for – the rain we’re getting later today, the new brakes on my husbands vehicle, the progress made in school this week, the wonderful, supportive friends we’ve been blessed with, the surprise visit of our dear friend who just moved out of state.  All of these and more are what stand out for me already today as well as the peace and prosperity that are gently, flowing into our life.  I mention these good things in passing and in conversation with others, and how grateful I am. Thank You God, Thank You God, Thank You God, is a phrase I say throughout my day, and it’s easy because I really mean it.  Try it.  You’ll like it.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  For daily updates, press the orange RSS feed to the right for directions.

 Affirmation for the Day – ” I am grateful for our many blessings.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – I am surrounded by the love of God.

Practice – Father, You stand before me and behind, beside me, in the place I see myself and everywhere I go.  You are in all the things I look upon, the sounds I hear, and every hand that reaches for my own.  In You time disappears and place becomes a meaningless belief.  For what surrounds Your Children and keeps them safe is Love Itself.  There is no Source but This, and nothing is that does not share Its holiness, that stands beyond Your one creation or without the Love Which holds all things within Itself.  Father, Your Children are like Yourself.  We come to You in Your own Name today, to be at peace within Your everlasting Love.

Leave a Reply

