Being

fuschia_peony

Friends of mine are learning how to just be in the moment – right now.  And they inspire me as they try on this new way of being, sharing with me how uncomfortable it feels at times.  And, how rewarding it is at the same time.  I can relate to the swelling that happens in our hearts when we try on a new role in our families or our friendships.  When we take care of ourselves first, there is more to give to others.  So instead of doing the safe and familiar and focusing on others, we are told to keep our eyes on ourselves.  On our business, and off other people, things and situations.  We are told the uncomfortable – they are none of our business.  Ughhhhh.

When my sponsor first shared this with me it was, in a way, a relief.  I had enough to keep my focus on with my own home, family life and my personal conduct.  I don’t always know where the healthy, helpful boundaries are and I’m aware of that so my sponsor helps me learn about it.  Although my parents did a good job with me regarding many other aspects of life, emotional and relational boundaries were a challenge for them because of their own families of origin.  Which reminds me that when we know better, we do better.

It may be a bit humbling at times to request the help needed to navigate through the situations that arise each day, but what a blessing that these are “We” programs.  Each of us has the resources of the experience, strength and hope of our sponsors and our fellow 12 Step members all focusing on improving the quality of our lives and therefore the lives of those we interact with each day.  The domino effect is a blessing for us all.  Pass it on.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  For daily updates, press the orange RSS feed to the right for directions.

 Affirmation for the Day – ” I am growing daily.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – The Child of God is my Identity.

Practice – Father, You know my true Identity.  Reveal it now to me who am Your Child, that I may waken to the truth in You and know that Heaven is restored to me.

Leave a Reply

