Surrender

lunar+eclipse+8+28+07+m

There is power in surrender.  When I first heard that, it made no sense to me.  Not at all.  It seemed counter intuitive, so to speak.  

On page 58 in the Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous we are told that we will find no results of the positive, successful type by using our old ideas.   “The result was nil until we let go absolutely.”  That means we surrender to the fact – yes, the fact – that we don’t know what’s best for us or anyone else.  We wouldn’t have ended up in a 12 Step meeting if we could figure out how to deal with addiction and codependency.  And it’s okay.  The disease of alcoholism is cunning, baffling and powerful.  Remember.  Those are daunting descriptions.  How could we possibly make healing progress on our own?

Okay, so that being said we must let go, and let God go to work through the 12 Steps and the people in meetings.  It’s so much easier, and it was such a relief to me eventually.  I came to meetings desperate enough to be willing to do what I was told to do.  The people in these meetings seemed happy.  I wanted what they had and was finally “willing to go to any lengths,” as it also says on page 58.  And so the journey started and, a day at a time, my life began to change for the better.  Progress was made in increments, daily.  Even without knowing it, my Higher Power was doing for me what I could not do for myself.   And that’s how it works for all of us.  It continues to work every day that we turn it over, get into acceptance, and do what is in front of us to do.  It works, when we work it.  So keep coming back.

     – If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  For daily updates, press the orange RSS feed to the right for directions.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am willing to change.  I am willing to try new things.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – I trust my sisters and brothers who are one with me

Practice – It is not this that I would look upon.  I trust my sisters and my brothers who are one with me.

Leave a Reply

