Blocked Interference

cats

Our cat loves to go outside to lay in the hostas in the backyard where he keeps an eye on the birds whom he talks to, the bunnies – he likes them because we had a pet bunny – and the squirrels, whom he doesn’t like so much.

Recently, a young cat from two doors down has been entering the boundaries of our backyard.  Our cat is not happy about this and when twice in the past I’ve seen them approaching each other, I’ve anxiously and immediately cautioned them both to leave each other alone.  My fear.  Thus, they promptly fought.  It occurred to me that my interference might be the cause of the altercation, so I asked a good friend who has several cats.  Sure enough, she advised me to just let them “make friends.”  She said they may have a few tussels before they work out the relationship.  That is normal. 

So, the other day while working in the garden I noticed the two of them creeping up to each other in the neutral territory of the yard next door.  They took turns, alternately tails down, slinking toward each other after announcing each new move with a howl or meow.  I kept gardening and did my best not to make eye contact or look particularly interested when they looked over at me.  And what do you know – they eventually parted, no fighting, and watched each other from the distance of their respective territory boundaries.  They worked it out just fine without me.  I didn’t have to take any action to abate my fear.  It was none of my business.  I’m not a cat.  A great Alanon lesson.

If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.  For daily updates, press the orange RSS feed right for directions.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am taking care of me.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – By grace I live, by grace I am released.

Practice – There By grace I live, by grace I am released.  By grace I give, by grace I will release.

Leave a Reply

