Reaching Out

GreenLeaves

Last night someone in AA and Alanon called me regarding a family situation.  I was surprised and honored that he would call me for help during a trying time.  He has been there for me when I have reached out in the past – now it was my chance to be there for him.

We are so blessed to have the resource of many people where we live, and when traveling, even where we don’t live.  But, if we need help all we have to do is pick up the phone and share.  God speaks to us through our fellows in the programs through their experience, strength and hope as well as their reminders of the 12 Steps and the wisdom in program literature.  Miracles happen on both ends of the phone – often I hear just what I need to be hearing coming out of my mouth or as happened this week, one of my sponsees said exactly what I needed to hear when sharing about her situation. 

I didn’t used to like to ask for help – now it almost comes naturally to pick up the phone and reach out.  Another of my sponsees recently shared with me that it was my calling her for help months ago that caused her to ask me to be her sponsor.  God did that, and now she’s working through the Steps and her life is transforming.  So is mine.  There is a ripple effect to reaching out – for that is how we allow others the opportunity to do God’s work. 

     – If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I have everything I need.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – Beyond this world there is a world I want.

Practice – Beyond this world there is a world I want.  I choose to see that world instead of this, for here is nothing that I really want.

Leave a Reply

