Promise

  us32-tha0000turquoise-door-santa-fe-new-mexico-posters

When we make the decision to quit drinking, that decision brings with it a multitude of feelings and reservations.  I was mad about not being able to have certain drinks ever again, afraid that people wouldn’t want to be friends with me anymore, nervous about how I’d ever be able to feel comfortable socializing, shamed about how unmanageable my life had become.  The day before my husband was going to treatment he called it his ” last day of freedom.”

Walking through the door of sobriety to Step 1, “Admitted we were powerless over alcohol, that our lives had become unmanageable.” can be very humbling – something many of us aren’t very fond of experiencing.  We may think we are losing our freedom and will be miserable for the rest of our lives – in pain and at the mercy of people and new rules we don’t like or understand.  Nothing feels safe or looks familiar. 

As we listen to people in the 12 Step programs share their experience, strength and hope we recognize ourselves – our lives, our feelings, our mistakes, our fears, our regrets.  As they share about what it was like, what happened and what it’s like now the success they’ve experienced inspires hope in us.  We start to learn that the freedom we thought we were losing, is actually restored to as we see evidence of the changes in others’ lives.  We are no longer chained to the bottle.  As the Promises remind us on page 83 of the Big Book, “If we are painstaking about this phase of our development, we will be amazed before we are halfway through,  We are going to know a new freedom and a new happiness.  Promise.

     – If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am in the perfect place for me.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – Let me remember I am one with God.

Practice – Let me remember I am one with God, At one with all my sisters and brothers and my Self, In everlasting holiness and peace.

Leave a Reply

