Spring Cleaning

07 

Today is Spring Cleaning Day – I’m enthusiastic, committed, inspired.  Such great enthusiasm used to be focused on unhelpful obsessions, addictions, and behaviors.  What if I could apply the same enthusiasm formerly directed to those activities instead, to working The Steps?  Particularly Steps 4 through 9.  It’s a good question. 

I may not enjoy all the cleaning while doing it, but I sure do like the results afterward.  Regarding working the Steps of the program, my sponsor tells me, ” You don’t have to like it – You just have to do it.”  What a relief !  I used to think I was supposed to like this stuff, which made me feel like a bad person because I didn’t like it one little bit.  On page 83 of The Big Book, those who’ve gone before us share their experience, strength and hope in The Promises telling us, ” If we are painstaking about this phase of our development, we will be amazed before we are halfway through.  We are going to are going to know a new freedom and a new happiness.” 

That’s how I feel with the changes in the house after Spring Cleaning – happy and free of the stuffiness and clutter acumulated during the cold, dark winter.  There’s more space, fresh air, and things just look brighter.  I feel good, satisfied and pleased with the changes, ready to let people into my space and entertain.  My self esteem improves, so does my attitude.  Isn’t that what happens when we work the steps – we’re freed up to have a life, to learn a new life style.  The wreckage of our cold, dark, lonely past is out of our way so we can choose new options.  That’s freedom.

     – If you find this helpful, pass it on to others.

Affirmation for the Day – ” I am willing to change.”

Remember to say the affirmation at least 3 times whenever you remember it, preferably in front of a mirror.

Course In Miracles Lesson – I rest in God.

Practice – I rest in God.

Leave a Reply

